L'élite des bons mots

Concerti op. 7 & 10 by Jean-Marie Leclair

The work of Jean-Marie Leclair (1697 - 1764) manifests itself in one of the most brilliant periods in the history of the French violin school and plays a major role there. In addition, period critics testify that Jean-Marie Leclair was one of the greatest violinists - virtuosos in Europe and that “his brilliant and delicate playing was extremely applauded” by the public during his performances within the Concert Spirituel in Paris, at the Dutch court or in Turin. By choosing to create this program dedicated to concertos op. Leclair 7 and Op.10, The Beggar's Ensemble is committed to seducing today's amateur and professional audiences with an innovative approach to this exceptional repertoire.

In its artistic approach, The Beggar's Ensemble aims to shed light on the interpretation and listening of Leclair's concertos from a new angle by highlighting the French taste for the art of playing the violin as well as a strong commitment . This program offers an inventory of a 10-year period during which Leclair publishes his opus 6 to 10, including his very first concerto (Op.7 n ° 1), and his last (Op. 10 n ° 6). . According to our analysis of the writing of these pieces, it is impossible to omit the presence of supports, counterpoint and harmonies specific to French music. The form of certain movements such as slow movements (aria gracioso) or overture were in our opinion composed with the same refinement as French baroque dance if we take into account that Leclair was a master in dancing before devoting himself to the violin. He
is also interesting to note that not only
the Op.7 concertos (1737) are the first concertos for solo violin published in France, but were also written before
that Leclair does not meet Locatelli.


 

Program

Jean-Marie Leclair (1697-1764)

Overture in D major Op.6

Chaconne in G minor Op.8

Violin Concerto No. 2 in D major Op.7

Violin Concerto No. 6 in G minor Op.10

Violin Concerto No. 1 in D minor Op.7

Jean-Baptiste Barrière (1707-1747)

Sonata No.6 in C minor

Duration: 1:30 with intermission

Logo Flora_edited.png

Album to be released in 2022
 

IMG_1884.JPG

In the preface to Opus 7, Leclair writes a very touching dedication to his former counterpoint and harmony teacher André Chéron (1695-1766), with words such as: “My dear master,…”, “… I am your student. », Or by presenting his music; "If there are some beauties there, I owe them to the learned lessons I have received from you." A pupil of Nicolas Bernier (c1664 - 1734), André Chéron was recognized among his contemporaries as a keyboardist, composer and bar drummer at the Royal Academy of Music. He created there operas such as Zoroastre by Rameau or Scylla and Glaucus by his former pupil. Wasn't it he who could have transmitted to Leclair a great love of opera? His opera Acis et Galaté was warmly received by the public in 1746, an audience who noticed similarities in the air with those of Jean-Philippe Rameau. During his position as violinist at the Concert Spirituel, Leclair performed a lot of Lullist repertoire (Roland, Atys, Armide, Persée, Isis, Phaëton…) thus marking his strong attachment to the French school.

 

Indeed, Leclair was very inspired by the novelties coming from Italy, this is manifested in his choice of forms by the publication of concerto or the presence of adagio adorned à la Corelli. In order to underline the common thread of the mixture of Italian and French aesthetics, and to color the program of the disc, we have added a sonata for cello and bass by Jean-Baptiste Barrière (1707 - 1747), student of the Italian virtuoso Francesco (Fransicello) Alborea, and who was one of the pioneers of solo cello art in France.


The title of the disc "L'Élite des bons mots", chosen by The Beggar's Ensemble, refers to the scene of the assassination of Jean-Marie Leclair (a matter that has never been elucidated yet), because this book of various little thoughts was found at side of the lifeless body of the composer on October 22, 1764.

Distribution

Augustin Lusson : Solo violin / Conductor

Louise Ayrton : Violin

David Rabinovici : Violin

Tatsuya Hatano : Violin / Viola
Daria Zemele : Harpsichord
Yuka Saïto : Viole de Gambe
François Gallon : Cello
Matthieu Lusson : Violone / Viola da gamba

Youen Cadiou : Double bass

L'élite des  bons mots

Concerti op.7 & 10 de Jean-Marie Leclair

L'oeuvre de Jean-Marie Leclair (1697 - 1764) se manifeste dans l’une des périodes les plus brillantes de l’histoire de l’école française de violon et y joue un rôle majeur. En outre, les critiques d’époque témoignent que Jean-Marie Leclair était l’un de plus grands violonistes - virtuoses d’Europe et que « son jeu brillant et délicat fut extrêmement applaudi » par le public lors ses interprétations au sein du Concert Spirituel à Paris, à la cour Hollandaise ou à Turin. En choisissant de créer ce programme consacré aux concertos op. 7 et op.10 de Leclair, The Beggar’s Ensemble s'engage à séduire le public amateur et professionnel d’aujourd’hui grâce à une approche novatrice pour ce répertoire exceptionnel.

Dans son approche artistique, The Beggar’s Ensemble vise à éclairer l’interprétation et l’écoute des concertos de Leclair sous un nouvel angle par la mise en valeur du goût français de l’art de jouer du violon ainsi qu’une forte prise de parti. Ce programme propose un état des lieux d'une période de 10 ans pendant laquelle Leclair publie ses opus 6 à 10, comprenant notamment son tout premier concerto (Op.7 n°1), et son dernier (Op. 10 n°6). Selon notre analyse de l’écriture de ces pièces, il est impossible d’omettre la présence d’appuis, de contrepoint et d’harmonies propre à la musique française. La forme de certains mouvements comme les mouvements lents (aria gracioso) ou l’ouverture furent à notre sens composés avec le même raffinement que la danse baroque française si l’on tient compte que Leclair fut maître à danser avant de se consacrer au violon. Il
est également intéressant de remarquer que, non seulement
les concertos Op.7 (1737) sont les premiers concertos pour violon seul publiés en France, mais furent aussi écrits avant
que Leclair ne rencontre Locatelli.


 

Programme

Jean-Marie Leclair (1697-1764)

Ouverture en Ré majeur Op.6

Chaconne en Sol mineur Op.8

Concerto pour violon N°2 en Ré majeur Op.7

Concerto pour violon N°6 en Sol mineur Op.10

Concerto pour violon N°1 en Ré mineur Op.7

Jean-Baptiste Barrière (1707-1747)

Sonate N°6 en Do mineur

Durée : 1:30 avec entracte

Logo Flora_edited.png

Album à paraître en 2022
 

IMG_1884.JPG

Dans la préface de l’opus 7, Leclair écrit une très touchante dédicace à son ancien professeur de contrepoint et d’harmonie André Chéron (1695-1766), avec des termes comme: « Mon cher maître,… », « …je suis votre élève. », ou bien en présentant sa musique ; « s’il s'y trouve quelques beautés, je les dois aux savantes leçons que j'ai reçu de vous ». Élève de Nicolas Bernier (c1664 - 1734), André Chéron était reconnu parmi ses contemporains comme un claviériste, compositeur et batteur de mesures à l’Académie royale de musique. Il y créa notamment des opéras comme Zoroastre de Rameau ou bien Scylla et Glaucus de son ancien élève. N’est-ce pas lui qui aurait pu transmettre à Leclair un grand amour de l’opéra ? Son opéra Acis et Galaté est chaleureusement accueilli par le public en 1746, public qui remarque des ressemblances dans les airs avec ceux de Jean-Philippe Rameau. Durant son poste de violoniste au Concert Spirituel, Leclair exécute beaucoup de répertoire Lulliste (Roland, Atys, Armide, Persée, Isis, Phaëton…) marquant donc son fort attachement à l’école française.

 

Effectivement, Leclair était très inspiré par les nouveautés venants d’Italie, cela se manifeste dans ses choix de formes par la publication de concerto ou la présence d’adagio ornés à la Corelli. Afin de souligner le fil rouge du mélange des esthétiques italienne et française, et pour colorer le programme du disque, nous avons ajouté une sonate pour violoncelle et basse de Jean-Baptiste Barrière (1707 - 1747), élève du virtuose italien Francesco (Fransicello) Alborea, et qui était l’un des pionniers de l’art soliste au violoncelle en France.


Le titre du disque « L’Élite des bons mots », choisi par The Beggar’s Ensemble, fait référence à la scène de l’assassinat de Jean-Marie Leclair (affaire encore jamais élucidée), car ce livre de petites pensées diverses fut retrouvé à coté du corps sans vie du compositeur le 22 octobre 1764.

Distribution

Augustin Lusson : Violon solo / Direction

Louise Ayrton : Violon

David Rabinovici: Violon

Tatsuya Hatano : Violon / Alto
Daria Zemele : Clavecin
Yuka Saïto : Viole de Gambe
François Gallon: Violoncelle
Matthieu Lusson : Violone / Viole de gambe

Youen Cadiou : Contrebasse